State Library of South Australia

Membership of the Board

Membership composition

The Libraries Board consists of eight members appointed by the Governor:

  • Three members will be nominated by the Local Government Association (LGA), who may comprise, in any combination of:
    • council members
    • librarians employed in a public library
    • community information officers employed by a council
    • any other officers or employees of a council
    • any other persons with experience in local government.
  • The remaining five members will be nominated by the Minister.
  • At least two members must be women and at least two must be men.
  • The Governor will appoint one of the members to be the presiding member.
  • The Governor may appoint a suitable person to be a deputy of a member (being a person nominated by the body or person who nominated the member) and the deputy may perform or exercise the functions and powers of the member in the member's absence. (Libraries Act 1982 s9 as amended).

Current members

  • James Bruce AM, Chairman
  • Lynn Spurling, Deputy Chair
  • Vini Ciccarello
  • Janet Finlay
  • Scott Hicks
  • Andrew Luckhurst-Smith
  • Jillian Whittaker
  • Jan-Claire Wisdom

View details of our board members.

Officers of the Board

  • Geoff Strempel, Director
  • Sue Scadding, Executive Secretary


Libraries Board photo Sept 2013
Libraries Board members (taken at Roxby Downs - September 2013)


Contact Us

Phone Us: +61 8 8207 7250
Ask Us a research query
Visit Us: Corner North Tce
& Kintore Ave, Adelaide
View our contact details

Media queries
Venue hire queries

Copyright & this website | Disclaimer | Privacy | Tell us what you think | Accessibility | FOI | Sitemap

Page last updated: 3:29 PM 6 Nov 2018

Page URL:

State Library of South - South Australian Government