State Library of South Australia

Open hours

Spence Wing (First floor)

Includes: Main Reference Collection, Information Desk,
and the Treasures Wall.

  • Monday to Wednesday 10am to 8pm
  • Thursday and Friday 10am to 6pm
  • Saturday and Sunday 10am to 5pm

Treasures Wall is sometimes closed due to function bookings, please check the Treasures Wall restricted hours

Your Hub (Ground Floor, Glass Foyer)

  • Monday to Sunday, open from 9am until closing time

Institute Building

  • Monday to Sunday 10am to 5pm

Mortlock Wing (Mortlock Wing exhibitions)

Friends of the State Library Office

  • Monday to Friday 11am to 4pm

View their website for more information

Royal Geographical Society of South Australia Library

  • Tuesday to Friday 10am to 1pm

View their website for more information

State Library Gallery (includes Featured Exhibitions)

  • Monday to Wednesday 10am to 7.45pm
  • Thursday and Friday 10am to 5.45pm
  • Saturday and Sunday 10am to 4.45pm

    View our current exhibitions

Symon Library

  • Monday to Friday 12 to 2pm

Aroma Cafe

  • Monday to Friday 7am to 5pm

Festive season hours

  • Monday 24 December: 10am to 5pm
  • Tuesday 25 December: public holiday closure
  • Wednesday 26 December: public holiday closure
  • Thursday 27 December: 10am to 5pm
  • Friday 28 December: 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday 29 December: 10am to 5pm
  • Sunday 30 December: 10am to 5pm
  • Monday 31 December: 10am to 5pm
  • Tuesday 1 January 2019: public holiday closure

Usual open hours will resume 2 January.

Public holidays closures 2019

  • New Year's Day, Tuesday 1 January
  • Australia Day (26 January), Monday 28 January
  • March public holiday, Monday 11 March
  • Good Friday, Friday 19 April
  • Easter Saturday, Saturday 20 April
  • Easter Monday, Monday 22 April
  • ANZAC day, Thursday 25 April
  • Queen's birthday and Volunteer Day, Monday 10 June
  • Labour Day, Monday 7 October
  • Christmas Eve, Tuesday 24 December - part-day public holiday closing at 7pm
  • Christmas Day, Wednesday 25 December
  • Proclamation Day, Thursday 26 December
  • New Year's Eve, Tuesday 21 December - part-day public holiday closing at 7pm
  • New Year's Day, Wednesday 1 January 2020

Reference: South Australia's public holidays

Contact Us

Phone Us: +61 8 8207 7250
Ask Us a research query
Visit Us: Corner North Tce
& Kintore Ave, Adelaide
View our contact details

Media queries
Venue hire queries


Copyright & this website | Disclaimer | Privacy | Tell us what you think | Accessibility | FOI | Sitemap

Page last updated: 8:42 AM 12 Nov 2018

Page URL: http://www.slsa.sa.gov.au/site/page.cfm?u=945

State Library of SA homesa.gov.au - South Australian Government