State Library of South Australia

Using cameras in the library

Customers in the State Library are welcome to take photographs of the general interior of the three buildings for personal use. For example a photograph of yourself taken in front of the Treasures Wall for a private photograph album. To avoid disturbance to other users, flash photography is not allowed past the main security entrance.

Permission is not required from State Library staff to photograph library materials used in the open access collections but - as with photocopying - the provisions of the Copyright Act 1968 must be observed.

Certain items in Library collections may not be photographed because of:

  • their age, condition or fragility
  • copyright conditions
  • donor restrictions.


Customers wishing to use a camera in the Somerville Reading Room must sign the State Library of South Australia Camera Use Policy form. This form provides the rules for the use of cameras in the Somerville Reading Room and customers will need to list the items they wish to photograph.For further information refer to the Somerville Reading Room Conditions of Use.

Permission from the Library is required for subsequent publication of images of the interior of the State Library. Permission may be required for subsequent publication of images of the Library's collections or artworks. For further information, see publishing material from State Library collections . An application form is also provided for items requiring permission. Each request is considered individually and the requester is notified in writing whether permission to publish has been granted, as well as conditions of use and the form of acknowledgment

Contact Us

Phone Us: +61 8 8207 7250
Ask Us a research query
Visit Us: Corner North Tce
& Kintore Ave, Adelaide
View our contact details

Media queries
Venue hire queries

Copyright & this website | Disclaimer | Privacy | Tell us what you think | Accessibility | FOI | Sitemap

Page last updated: 11:45 AM 4 May 2016

Page URL:

State Library of South - South Australian Government