Skip to main content

The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are presented by the South Australian Government and managed by the State Library of South Australia. 

We are delighted to announce the 37 writers from around Australia who have been shortlisted for the 2022 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, one of Australia’s richest and most prestigious literary awards.

Congratulations to all shortlisted authors and their publishers. Winners will be announced in a special ceremony at Adelaide Writers’ Week on Saturday 5 March 2022 as part of the Adelaide Festival. 

The 2022 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature shortlist is:

Children's Literature Award ($15,000)

Book cover Bindi

Kirli Saunders
Magabala Books

Book cover How to write the soundtrack of your life

How to Write the Soundtrack to Your Life
Fiona Hardy
Affirm Press


Book cover Iceberg

Claire Saxby
Allen & Unwin
Book cover The Republic of Birds

The Republic of Birds
Jessica Miller
Text Publishing
Book cover Summer Time

Summer Time
Hilary Bell
UNSW Press
Book cover We are wolves

We Are Wolves
Katrina Nannestad
HarperCollins Publishers


Fiction Award ($15,000)

Book cover Cherry Beach

Cherry Beach
Laura McPhee-Browne
Text Publishing

Book cover Murmurations

Carol Lefevre
Spinifex Press


The Rain Heron book cover

The Rain Heron
Robbie Arnott
Text Publishing
Book cover Rise and shine

Rise and Shine
Patrick Allington
Scribe Publications
Book cover Song of the Crocodile

Song of the Crocodile
Nardi Simpson
Hachette Australia
Book cover The Yeild

The Yield
Tara June Winch
Penguin Random House


John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

Book cover for Errant night

Errant Night
Jerzy Beaumont
Recent Work Press

Book cover for Fifteeners

Jordie Albiston
Puncher & Wattmann


Book cover A history of what I'll become

A History of What I'll Become
Jill Jones
UWA Publishing
Book cover Homecoming

Elfie Shiosaki
Magabala Books
Book cover Notes towards the dreambook of endings

Notes Towards the Dreambook of Endings
Peter Boyle
Vagabond Press
Book cover salute

Ken Bolton
Puncher and Wattmann
Book cover Throat

Ellen van Neerven
University of Queensland Press


Non-fiction Award ($15,000)

Book cover Fathoms

Fathoms: the World in the Whale
Rebecca Giggs
Scribe Publications

Book cover Fury

Kathryn Heyman
Allen & Unwin


Book cover Olive Cotton: A life in photography

Olive Cotton: A Life in Photography
Helen Ennis
HarperCollins Publishers
Book cover In search of the woman who sailed the world

In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World
Danielle Clode
Pan Macmillan Australia
Book cover White tears brown scars

White Tears/Brown Scars
Ruby Hamad
Melbourne University Publishing
Book cover Yornadaiyn Woolagoodja

Yornadaiyn Woolagoodja
Yornadaiyn Woolagoodja
Magabala Books


Young Adult Fiction Award ($15,000) 

Book cover The boy from the Mish

The Boy from the Mish
Gary Lonesborough
Allen & Unwin

Book cover The Gaps

The Gaps
Leanne Hall
Text Publishing


Book cover Metal fish, falling snow

Metal Fish, Falling Snow
Cath Moore
Text Publishing
Book cover Off the map

Off the Map
Scot Gardner
Allen & Unwin
Book cover This is how we change the ending

This is How We Change the Ending
Vikki Wakefield
Text Publishing
Book cover When we are invisible

When we are Invisible
Claire Zorn
University of Queensland Press


Jill Blewett Playwright's Award ($12,500)

  • Calendar Days by Peter Beaglehole
  • Recalibrate by Lucy Combe


Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)

  • Chlorophyll and Casein by Rachael Mead
  • Clutch feathers. Draw breath by Corrie Hosking
  • The Comforting Weight of Water by Roanna McClelland
  • The Guggenheim by Heather Taylor-Johnson


Not Shortlisted Fellowships

  • Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship ($15,000)
  • Max Fatchen Fellowship ($15,000)
  • Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship ($15,000) 



Contact Us

If you have any queries please contact:

AFAL Project Officer
Phone: (08) 8207 7258