Skip to main content

The State Library, together with the South Australian Government, is pleased to host the 2022 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

The awards offer a total prize pool of $167,500 across six national and five South Australian categories, including the coveted Premier’s Award worth $25,000 for the overall winner.

Nominations have now closed.

Shortlisted authors will be uploaded to the State Library website by January 2022 and winners will be announced during 2022 Adelaide Writer’s Week. Unsuccessful authors will not be notified individually.   

Good luck everyone!

2022 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature prizes

Premier's Award $25,000 for the best overall published work, chosen from the winners of the five national categories.
Children's Literature Award $15,000 for a published fiction or non-fiction book aimed at readers up to 11 years.
Fiction Award $15,000 for a published novel or collection of short stories.
Young Adult Fiction Award $15,000 for a published book of fiction aimed at readers aged 12 to 18 years.
Non-Fiction Award $15,000 for a published non-fiction work.
John Bray Poetry Award $15,000 for a published collection of poetry, in honour of late South Australian poet Dr John Bray.
Jill Blewett Playwright's Award $12,500 for an un-produced play of any genre written by a professional South Australian playwright. Supported by State Theatre Company South Australia.
Arts South Australia Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award $10,000 plus publication by Wakefield Press for an unpublished, book-length manuscript by a South Australian writer.
Max Fatchen Fellowship $15,000 for a South Australian writer for young people working in the genres of fiction, drama, poetry or screenwriting, named in honour of author Max Fatchen.
Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship $15,000 for a South Australian writer working in the areas of fiction, poetry, drama, scriptwriting, autobiography, essays, major histories, literary criticism or other expository or analytical prose. Named in honour of distinguished South Australian writer and visual artist Barbara Hanrahan.
Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship $15,000 for a South Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writer working in the genres of fiction, literary, non-fiction, poetry and playwriting.

Download the guidelines

Please refer to the following guidelines to ensure you meet the criteria for each award category.


Contact Us

If you have any queries please contact:

AFAL Project Officer
Phone: (08) 8207 7258