Skip to main content

The State Library of South Australia is proud to unveil the new-look 2024 South Australian Literary Awards, with applications now open for the state’s highest literary honour.

The biennual Awards celebrate Australia's diverse writing culture by offering national and state based literary prizes across a range of genres, as well as three fellowships for South Australian

State Library of South Australia Director Geoff Strempel said,

“The 2024 South Australian Literary Awards herald a new era of the Awards in line with the State Library’s strategic direction with the unveiling of a fresh look and new name.

“The new-look Awards shines a light on the best writing talent both here in South Australia and nationally, while also supporting the literary community.

“As the custodian of stories, we’re calling on South Australian authors and writers to share their stories for their chance to vie for the state’s highest literary honour.”

Arts Minister Andrea Michaels said the Malinauskas Government is committed to supporting South Australian authors.

“South Australia is renowned for its brilliant creative minds and the South Australian Literary Awards provides a boost to authors to propel their literature careers.”

Jointly funded by the Government of South Australia and the Libraries Board of South Australia, the South Australian Literary Awards offer a total prize pool of $167,500 across six national and five South Australian categories, including the coveted Premier’s Award worth $25,000 for the overall winner.

Award categories


  • Premier’s Award ($25,000)
  • Children’s Literature Award ($15,000)
  • Young Adult Fiction Award ($15,000)
  • Fiction Award ($15,000)
  • John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)
  • Non-Fiction Award ($15,000)


  • Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($12,500)
  • Arts South Australia Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)
  • Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship ($15,000)
  • Max Fatchen Fellowship ($15,000)
  • Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship ($15,000)

Applications must be submitted by 5pm, Friday 15 December 2023.

An independent judging panel will assess all categories with a shortlist announced in July 2024. Winning authors will be announced at a ceremony in the State Library’s Mortlock Chamber in November 2024.

For more information, please visit the 2024 South Australian Literary Awards.

About the State Library of South Australia

The State Library of South Australia is the largest public research library in the state and among the most iconic cultural institutions in South Australia. It is home to the historic Mortlock Wing which is consistently voted among the most beautiful libraries in the world.

As custodians of stories, the State Library of South Australia welcomes over half a million visitors a year and plays a significant role in collecting, preserving and making accessible the State’s history for current and future generations to enjoy, experience and learn from.

Open 7 days a week, the State Library of South Australia provides 24/7 access that connects people to resources including research and information services. It also hosts events, exhibitions, and curated programs to enrich access to its collections.


Lisa Reichstein
0481 238 560 or

Download the media release